AGM Confirms National League Play-Off Changes

Vanarama National League clubs have voted to change the format of the end-of-season Play-Offs and increase the number of qualifying teams from four to six.

The decision, made at the League’s Annual General Meeting at Celtic Manor last weekend, means that clubs finishing in places from second to seventh in each of the three Leagues will contest the end-of-season Play-Offs.

The matches will now be decided on a one-leg basis, as opposed to two legs, with home advantage given to those who finish higher in the table. The new format will be:

Match 1:  4th v 7th

Match 2:  5th v 6th

Match 3: 2nd v Winner of Match 1

Match 4: 3rd v Winner of Match 2

The winners of matches 3 and 4 will then contest the Promotion Final at Wembley.