Aldershot Town represented at VJ Day commemorative service

Aldershot Town chairman Shahid Azeem was part of a group of Rushmoor, Hampshire and Aldershot figures who came together for a commemorative service for the 75th anniversary of VJ day at Municipal Gardens, Aldershot on Saturday.

Everyone involved on the day came together for prayers and a minutes silence to remember our war heroes. We will remember them.

The following is everyone who attended and was part of the ceremony.

High Sheriff of Hampshire Revd Sue Coleman

Deputy Lieutenant of Hampshire

  • The Hon Hugo Cubitt DL (and Councillor Mrs Onnalee Cubitt – Deputy Mayor of Basingstoke and Deane)

1st Battalion Irish Guards

  • Padre, Major Albert Jackson

Rushmoor Borough Council

    • Mayor and Mayoress of Rushmoor (Councillor Charles Choudhary)
  • Councillor Jacqui Vosper – Armed Forces Champion, Rushmoor Borough Council
  • Head of Democracy and Community – Mr Andrew Colver OBE

Aldershot Garrison

  • Aldershot Garrison Commander, Lt Col Paddy Baines MBE
  • Mrs Nikki Acott, Community Engagement
  • Army Media representative

The Shots Foundation/Aldershot Town FC

  • Mr Shahid Azeem

Royal British Legion

  • Mr Nigel Thomas – Chairman, Aldershot Branch
  • Mr Mick Mills – Secretary, Aldershot Branch
  • Mrs Caroline Mills – Poppy Appeal Organiser, Aldershot Branch
  • Mr Steven Gatfield – Chairman – Farnborough Branch
  • Mrs Jacki Gatfield – Poppy Appeal Organiser – Farnborough Branch
  • Mr Andy Cassidy – Standard Bearer – Aldershot Branch
  • Mr Dudley Howard – Standard Bearer – Farnborough Branch
  • Mr Ray Pullen – Standard Bearer – Royal Naval Association
  • Mr David “Spud” Murphy – Standard Bearer – Parachute Regimental Association
  • Mr George Proctor – Standard Bearer – Royal Air Force Association
  • Standard Bearer – Burma Star Association (attendance tbc)


  • Mr Paul Riddell