500 Club Raises £41,870

Aldershot Town thank every supporter who participated in the 500 Club and contributed towards a final total of £41,870 for Gary Waddock’s playing budget.

The money aided the loan signings of Nicke Kabamba and Fabien Robert, plus the extension of Lewis Ward’s loan from Reading – three potentially crucial deals as The Shots enter the final months of the season.

All participants will be contacted by Commercial Manager Mark Butler in the near future, to confirm details of an event in their honour which will be attended by Gary Waddock and James Rowe, plus the three 500 Club players!

The scheme offered supporters a unique ‘money-back-and-more’ incentive on helping push The Shots to promotion back to the Football League, by guaranteeing every investor their money back plus a 20% dividend if Aldershot Town return to League Two in 2018.

A small amount of the money donated remains available to Gary to make further signings.

“I have to thank everybody who has put their hand in their pocket, to allow us to bring in the players that we have brought in,” explained Waddock. “This money has been very very helpful. These are players who have definitely improved the squad, and we’ve already seen the benefits.

“What Mark has done is brilliant, it was a fantastic idea and it did seem to grab the imagination of a lot of supporters. I already know a lot of the people who have contributed, and look forward to meeting the others to thank them personally.”

“I am so proud of every single contributor and what we have achieved, and proud to be a part of this Club,” said Mark Butler. “Huge credit goes to everybody, and it shows what we, as supporters, can achieve when we all work together. I was amazed at the generosity of those who could afford it, and chuffed with the smaller donators who have clubbed together. In that, particular thanks must go to Steve Brett, who co-ordinated seven syndicates on Shotsweb.

“This has been something very special, and I sincerely hope that I am offering everybody their money back, plus a little more, in early May.”

Our thanks to every person who took part:


Adam Puddick

Alan Still

Alasdair Watson

Andy Newman & Neil Newman






Anthony Seal

Anthony Spooner

Bob Trinder & Steve Springer

Brian Armstrong, Des Paddwick, Barry Elliott, Peter Harding and John Townsend

Clarks Caterers

Dave Cutler & Sue Cutler

Dave Greenfield

Dave Varney

David Child

David Scanlan

David Shearer & Frank Drew

Derek Kent

Doug Craig

Gary Jamieson


Howard Chase

Hugh Shipton

Iain Ross

Ian Scanlon

Ian Streeter

James Evamy

John Denning

John Leppard

John Moir

John Walton

Julian Saunders

Julie-Ann Day

Lauryn Blackman

Leslie Baker

Lewis Scard

Lewis Trinder

Lionel Colby

Marcus Webb

Mark Butler

Mark Hannis

Martin Jesop

Martin Patfield

Matt Walbridge

Mike Scott

Mike Titmus

Norman Seal

Paul Marsh

Peter O’Shea

Peter Warr

Phil Holden


Richard Petty

Robert Thompson

Shahid Azeem

Simon Reagan

Simon Reagan

Steve Brett

Steve Brett

Steve Jones

The Crimea

The Three Musketeers

Thérèse Crowley

Tim Chase

Tim Riley

Tommy Anderson

Tony Roberts

Weekday Volunteers


East Bank Right Siders (Alan Baker, Andy Norris, Callum Barker, Kingsley Baker, Mark Sewry, Mike Thompson, Steve Brett, Stuart Henderson, Warwick Lawson-Syer)

In addition, the 11 Shotsweb Paypal Pools set up by Steve Brett raised £5,370, thanks to:

Adam Puddick, Adrian Bell, Adrian Higgins, Alan Searle, Alan Shoulders, Alex Freeman, Andrea Harland, Andrew Chillman, Andy Oliver, Anonymous, Bradley Stent, Carol Lewis, Caroline Freeman, Chris Smith, Christopher Heath, Christopher Rowsell, Elane Vass, Gary Fry, Gary Woodford, Geoffery Sparey, George Harland, Giles Spencer, Heather Nicklinson, Henry Proudlock, Howard Tolley, Iain Neville, Ian Burningham, Ian Goble, Ian Lambert, Ian Pearce, John Campbell, John Ross, John Stubley, John Winterbourne, Julian Young, Julie Ralph, Karen Pink, Lynda Carter, Malcolm Green, Mark Poole, Martin Choularton, Martin Dunn, Matthew Foot, Melvyn Dackombe, P A Chatt, Pamela Hammond, Paul Blackshaw, Paul Chillman, Paul Marcus, Paul Mountford, Anonymous, Raymond Baldwin, Rob Fuller, Robert Spalding, Roger Hammerton, Ruby Harland, Sid In Devon, Stephen Calvin, Steve Brett, Tony Roberts & William Young