It was a disappointing return to the EBB Stadium for Aldershot Town as they fell to a 3-1 defeat over Yeovil Town, who picked up their sixth win in a row.

The away side took the lead on the 8th minute through Myles Hippolyte, although the Shots responded  well when Max Hunt evened the score in the 19th minute with a well-taken header.

However, the Shots fate was sealed when a goal each for James Smith and Rhys Murphy sealed the visitors victory.

The Shots faced tough competition against the Somerset side, who had previously won their last five fixtures and were eager for a sixth consecutive win.

AJ Eyoma replaced Alex Fletcher in the starting 11, whilst Robbie Tinkler returned to the bench leaving Lewis Kinsella captain for the second time in a row.

Yeovil took the lead in the 8th minute, courtesy of Myles Hippolyte, when his low drive fired past standstill Aldershot bodies and straight into the back of the net.

However, the Shots fought back and soon equalised when Derby loanee, Hunt, headed home a set-piece into the top left corner.

James Smith guided the visitors into a 2-1 lead at half time following his 38th minute strike. The midfielder took aim from the left channel, with his effort destined for an unstoppable finish.

Seconds before the whistle blew for half time, the Shots fumbled around at the near-post following a corner, but were unable to clinch a final touch to cancel out Smith’s goal.

The second half failed to provide Danny Searle’s side with any luck when Rhys Murphy tricked Kodi Lyons-Foster and curled a left-footed shot past Mitch Walker in the 59th minute.

A mistake from Lee Collins in the 65th minute saw Harry Panayiotou’s strike drift just wide of the left-post after it took a vital deflection from Carl Dickinson. Unfortunately, the awarded corner was fired too far away and nobody was able to capitalise it.

Hunt had an opportunity to re-create his first half goal for a second time, however he failed to direct his header as successfully as before.

It was a disappointing result for the Shots after such a rewarding result on Saturday. Next up for the North Hampshire side is Chesterfield on Saturday, 28th September.

Aldershot Town: Walker, Kinsella, Lyons-Foster, Santos (Mullings 69), Shields (Berkeley-Agyepong 64), Panayiotou, Eyoma (Fletcher 69), Fowler, Chislett, Hunt, Powell

Subs not used: Whittingham, Tinkler

Yeovil Town: A Smith, Alcock, Dickinson, Collins, J Smith (Tilley 79), Wilkinson, Worthington (D’Ath 61), Murphy (McCoy 90), Omotayo, Hippolyte, Skendi

Subs not used: Bradbury, Hutton

Match Attendance: 1684 (379 away fans)