MATCH REPORT: Aldershot Town 1 Solihull Moors 2 (H) (Vanarama National League)

A late goal from Joe Sbarra was enough to see Aldershot Town suffer another narrow defeat to Solihull Moors.

Aldershot Town made two changes to the starting XI that faced Notts County, with Wassim Aouachria coming in to replace Ibby Akanbi and making his first start for the Shots after appearing off the bench on his debut during the narrow 3-2 defeat last week.

There was also a late change in the line-up, with Christian Oxlade-Chamberlain returning to the starting XI and coming in to replace Kevin Lokko in defence. Mo Bettamer was also named on the bench for the first time this season, and George Fowler was named as a substitute at the last minute.

It was the visitors that started the game on the front foot, but with only a half chance that was called for offside and a shot that didn’t trouble Walker to show for it.

Aldershot Town’s first effort of the game came in the 14th minute, with Kinsella’s effort from a free-kick won by Aouachria being easily dealt with by Boot.

The Shots then had a couple of chances of their own, firstly a shot from Aouachria that wasn’t powerful enough to challenge the goalkeeper, and then a shot from Phillips from distance that was off target.

But in the 22nd minute, the home side had their best chance of the game so far, with Oxlade-Chamberlain shooting from just outside the area and forcing Boot to parry the ball away.

The momentum remained with Aldershot Town, and in the 26th minute, the deadlock was broken. A corner whipped in by Kinsella was met by the head of Giles Phillips, whose close range effort at the front post was too powerful to be kept out.

The Shots had the ball in the back of the net once again just five minutes later, with Harris playing a great ball through to Andrews who slotted it home past Boot, but it was disallowed for offside.

With six minutes to go before half time, Aldershot Town came close once again, this time Whittingham getting on the end of an Oxlade-Chamberlain cross but heading just over the bar.

Wassim Aouachria almost opened his account in style in the 42nd minute, controlling it on his chest and attempting an overhead kick from a tight angle, but his acrobatic effort was saved by Boot.

Solihull Moors did have a chance of their own before the half time whistle, with an effort from Andrew Dallas being saved comfortably by Walker.

And to cap off a hectic end to the first half, the Moors equalised in the 45th minute, with Lois Maynard climbing highest from the cross and heading it into the bottom corner.

The first chance of the second half came five minutes in, after a cross was met by Harris and tipped over the bar by Boot.

The away side had their first chance of the half in the 55th minute. A counter attack led to the ball being played into the box, but it was brilliantly dealt with by Kinsella, and the resulting corner was met by the head of Gudger, but his effort went wide.

The Shots came close to re-taking the lead, a shot by Edser from outside the box sailing just over the bar.

For the next 15 minutes, the game settled down, with neither team creating much of a threat in front of goal.

In the 79th minute, the visitors had a chance to take the lead, but Sbarra’s effort went straight at Mitch Walker.

And in the 88th minute, Solihull Moors took the lead. An unlucky bounce set Dallas through on goal, and his simple pass through to Sbarra left the striker with an empty net to tap the ball into.

The Shots almost equalised in added time, but a long range effort from Harris flew over the bar.

Aldershot Town will travel to newly-relegated Southend United in midweek and look to pick up their first points of the season.


Aldershot Town FC: 1 M Walker (G/K), 3 L Kinsella (C), 6 K Lyons-Foster, 7 A Whittingham, 8 T Edser, 10 J Berkeley-Agyepong (E Watts 69’), 11 C Andrews (I Akanbi 86’), 12 C Oxlade-Chamberlain, 18 W Aouachria (M Bettamer 46’), 22 G Phillips, 23 J Harris

Solihull Moors XI: 1 R Boot (G/K), 2 T Williams (M Preston 59’), 3 J Cranston, 4 K Storer (C), 5 C Howe, 6 A Gudger, 7 J Sbarra, 8 C Maycock, 11 R Barnett (J Donawa 74’), 19 A Dallas, 25 L Maynard (D Newton 46’)