MATCH REPORT: Aldershot Town 1 A.F.C. Wrexham 0

A 94th minute goal from Harry Paniyiotou secured the Shots their first win at home as they celebrated a 1-0 victory over Wrexham A.F.C at the EBB Stadium.

Following their defeat to Barnet on Tuesday night, the Shots had an opportunity to redeem themselves against fellow league strugglers Wrexham.

With both teams obtaining the same amount of points, neither were ready to settle for a draw. However, it looked unlikely that anything other than a point for either side would materialise until the 94th minute when Panyiotou netted the winner.

Lewis Kinsella captained the side, replacing Robbie Tinkler following his one match suspension.

The first half saw Danny Searle’s side counter-attack from a Wrexham corner and went close when a looped cross from the right channel found Ethan Chislett on the outside of the box. The former Metropolitan Police midfielder grappled control before his loosely aimed shot forced Christian Dibble into a low save.

The visitors had a good effort saved when Wright plunged a header towards Mitch Walker, yet the experienced keeper made an immediate clearance, with a powerful punch in front of the East Bank.

The second half saw a number of efforts on goal, including a drilled cross from Jack Powell cleared and the follow-up corner headed just over the bar by George Fowler.

The Shots secured two free-kicks within a 10 minute period, both in a dangerous position just outside of the box. The first was a low drive from Powell, which rolled just wide of the far-post whilst the second found itself immediately deflected off a Wrexham body, taken again by the Crawley Town loanee.

On the 90th minute, AJ Eyoma escaped Wrexham’s grasp on the left channel and raced towards the near post. His curled strike formed into a well-delivered shot on target, but the ball was cleared off the goalmouth by Luke Young. It appeared to be the final chance for the Shots until Panyiotou slid a neat cross from Chislett into the bottom left corner.

The Shots next face recently relegated Yeovil Town on Tuesday night, with a chance to build on their win and climb up the table.

Aldershot Town: 1 M Walker, 3 L Kinsella (C), 6 K Lyons-Foster, 7 A Santos, 10 C Shields (Mullings 85′), 11 H Panayiotou, 16 G Fowler, 20 E Chislett, 25 M Hunt, 29 A Fletcher (Eyoma 73′), 34 J Powell.

Subs not used: Whittingham, Kudiywa, Berkeley-Agyepong.

Wrexham A.F.C: 21 C Dibble (G/K), 3 J Jennings, 5 S Pearson, 8 L Young, 11 R Grant, 12 J Oswell, 13 M Carrington, 15 A Barton (Summerfield 77′), 20 A Wright (Rutherford 77′), 23 M Chambers, 29 M Harris (Tolitt 65′).

Subs not used: Redmond, Szczepaniak