MATCH PREVIEW: Wealdstone FC v Aldershot Town

Following an excellent display in their 3-2 win over Solihull Moors in the Buildbase FA Trophy Fourth Round, Aldershot Town return to National League action on Saturday against Wealdstone FC at Grosvenor Vale. 

In association with LV BET, Kirshon Wilkins previews the game:

Shots Squad:

Lewis Kinsella continues to make good progress in his rehabilitation from his knee injury. Craig Tanner and Ross McCormack remain side-lined for the foreseeable future. Mitch Walker should return to the starting line-up after recent inspiring performances whilst Harrison Panayiotou could be a doubt for this fixture.


Name: Wealdstone FC

Founded: 1899

Nickname: The Stones

Opposition Manager: Dean Brennan

Stadium: Grosvenor Vale

2019/20 National League Final Position: 1st (promoted to National League from National League South as champions)

Current Position: 15th

The Gaffer:

The Dublin-born 40-year-old was an Irish footballer before he began management. Brennan had a strong career in non-league football with the likes of Hitchin Town, Grays Athletic, Lewes and Hemel Hempstead Town. He has also played for AFC Wimbledon and Sheffield Wednesday.

Brennan’s managerial career began in 2010 with his former side Hemel Hempstead as a caretaker manager before being promoted to the manager’s position in 2012. Brennan stayed until 2018 and during his time, he helped the Tudors to their highest ever finish (fourth in Southern League Premier Division) and gained promotion to the Conference South after winning the league by 10 points.

In 2018, Brennan and his assistant Stuart Maynard joined Billericay Town after being appointed by owner Glenn Tamplin. However, they both had their contracts terminated by Tamplin after less than four months in the job before moving to Isthmian League Premier Division side Kingstonian. Maynard followed becoming the assistant manager there and Brennan departed after just five games in charge before moving to Ruislip, Greater London to manage Wealdstone FC in May 2019 where Maynard followed again as assistant manager.


13 players have left Grosvenor Vale to move onto pastures new. Charlie Wakefield (Bromley), Jay Williams (Harrogate Town), Grant Smith (Chesterfield), William Edjenguele (Nuneaton), Billy Clifford (Havant & Waterlooville), Reece Beckles (Hemel Hempstead), Ryan Sellers (Hemel Hempstead), Jake Sheppard (Hayes & Yeading), and Harry Isted (Luton Town). Former Crystal Palace academy graduate Kieron Cadogan has also been released by the club and now plays for Corinthian-Casuals. Afolabi Coker and Dean Parrett were released and have no club whilst Matthew Saunders has retired.


13 players have been retained from their promotion campaign in the National League South last season. Stuart Moore, Lewis Everett, Jerome Okimo, Michee Efete, Connor Stevens, Daniel Green, Connor Smith, Michael Phillips, Jacob Mendy, Elijah Hearn, Ross Lafayette and Moses Emmanuel stayed at Grosvenor Vale. One of the retained players Dennon Lewis featured on Love Island in 2019.


17 new players have joined Wealdstone this season. Adel Gafaiti (Hayes & Yeading), Mohamed Diallo (Worthing), Matt Lench (Slough Town), Jake Askew (Chelsea u18s), Jorome Slew (Maldon & Tiptree), Danny Parish (Maldon & Tiptree), Jack Cawley (Concord Rangers), Charlee Hughes (Maldon & Tiptree), Dan Wishart (Maidstone United), Ashley Charles (Concord Rangers) and Rob Swaine (Brentwood Town). Kundai Benyu has joined from reigning Scottish champions Celtic and Alex Dyer has joined from Kuwait side Al-Tadamon. Maxim Kouogun, Grant Smith, Josh Debayo and Josh Meekings arrived without a club.


Wealdstone have carried on from the form they had in their promotion campaign last season. The Stones sit in 15th having won six, drawn three and lost seven. They have also progressed to the last-16 of the Buildbase FA Trophy with a 3-1 win over Gloucester City and they will be valiant in their attempts to climb up the table.


Tomorrow’s referee is Daniel Middleton with his assistants Jonathon Block and Mark Stevens and the fourth official officiating the game is Martyn Mitchell.

Match Coverage:

The match will be streamed and available HERE. Get your streaming passes for just £7.99. Coverage starts at 2:30pm with kick-off at 3 pm tomorrow.