MATCH PREVIEW: Sutton United v Aldershot Town (A)

Following a valiant display against league leaders Torquay United, Aldershot Town make the journey to South London to face Sutton United, looking to spoil their promotion charge in the National League.

In association with LV Bet, Kirshon Wilkins previews the game:

Shots Squad:

Ross McCormack (Achilles), Alex Finney (hamstring op) and Alfy Whittingham (Ankle) remain the only injury problems for Danny Searle’s side.


Name: Sutton United

Founded: 1898

Nickname: The U’s

Opposition Manager: Matt Gray

Stadium: Gander Green Lane

2019/20 National League Final Position: 15th (National League season ended in March 2020 with positions appointed on a Points-per-game system).

Current Position: 2nd

The Gaffer:

The London-born 39-year-old was a professional footballer before taking up management. Gray played for the likes of Tottenham Hotspur, Cardiff City and Havant & Waterlooville before being forced to retire early in his career due to injury.

After his playing career ended, Gray had spells as an assistant manager in the National League with Eastleigh FC, then League Two side Aldershot Town, League Two side Crawley Town and Sutton United before being appointed as manager of Sutton in May 2019 after the departure of Paul Doswell.

Since moving to Sutton, Gray has turned them into promotion hopefuls after a mid-table finish in his first season as manager of the club. Gray’s heroics has got Sutton dreaming of a possible League Two place despite the odds against them.


10 players have left the U’s to move onto pastures new. Those released include Kyel Reid (Billericay Town), Crossley Lema (Leatherhead FC), Tom Bolarinwa (Lewes FC), Tommy Wright (Havant & Waterlooville), Aaron Jarvis (Scunthorpe United) and Isaac Olaofe (Millwall). George Tuson Firth (Mt Druitt Town Rangers) and Jordan Adebayo-Smith (Tampa Bay Rowdies) have gone abroad. Jamie Butler has been released without a club. Seb Brown has retired.


17 players have been retained from their previous campaign. Those players include Jon Barden, Ben Wyatt, Ben Goodliffe, Louis John, David Ajiboye, Kenny Davis, Omar Bugiel, Harry Beautyman, Will Randall, Coby Rowe, Craig Dundas, Craig Eastmond, Wayne Brown, Callum Kealy, Junior Tiensia, Jude Mason, Rob Milsom.


13 new players have joined Sutton United this season. Those signings include Aaron Simpson (Dover Athletic), Dean Bouzanis (Melbourne City), Tobi Sho-Silva (FC Halifax Town), Bradley House (Horsham FC), Adam Lovatt (Hastings United) and Joash Nembhard (Merstham FC). On-loan Signings include Ben Margetson (Cardiff City), Bradley Pearce (FC Farnborough), Filip Chalupniczak (Hanwell Town) and Donovan Wilson (Bath City). Junior Tiensia (Millwall) and Isaac Olaofe (Millwall) joined from the same club whilst Rhys Browne was signed without a club.


After finishing mid-table last season, Sutton United will be proud of what they have accomplished this season. From mid-table to promotion hopefuls is an impressive feat and they will be pushing Torquay United for that automatic promotion place but they will need to stay consistent.


Tonight’s referee is Andrew Miller with his assistants Gary Jerden and Jacob Lehane and the fourth official officiating the game is Tom Ellsmore.

Match Coverage:

The hosts will be providing a live stream for Saturday afternoon’s game in the National League. The coverage will be underway at around the kick-off time which is at 3pm. You can purchase their live stream for £9.50 HERE.

Live and Post-Match social media coverage will NOT commence due to the Social Media Blackout where there will be NO posts from Friday 30th April, 3pm to Monday 3rd May, 11:59pm. 

Pre and Post-Match interviews will still be on the YouTube channel as normal and on our website too, so please head to our website for the post-match coverage. 

There will be live BBC Surrey Sport commentary of the game with Rob Worrall and summariser Neil Smith. Click HERE for the link.