Club to welcome 72/73 Division Four promotion winning side!

Aldershot Town are delighted to be welcoming back a number of the heroes from Aldershot FC’s 1973 Division Four promotion winning side during our Vanarama National League clash with Scunthorpe United on Saturday, 15th April!

These players represented the first ever Aldershot FC side to win promotion and did so by finishing fourth on ‘goal average’ and clinching promotion by 0.12 of a goal!

Promotion was gained in the final game of the season, by virtue of a 1-1 draw on a Friday night at Stockport County.

Between them, the 11 attendees racked up almost 3000 appearances for Aldershot FC, included record appearance holder Murray Brodie and record goalscorer Jack Howarth!

We’ll be welcoming 10 of the promotion winning side, along with Joe Jopling who made nearly 400 appearances for the Shots before and after that famous season and captained Aldershot during his second spell with the club.

All the players will be joining us for pre-match hospitality in the EBB Lounge and will be introduced onto the pitch at half-time. Those joining us will be:

  • Kelvin Hopkins
  • Tony Godfrey
  • Murray Brodie
  • Dennis Brown
  • Malcolm Crosby
  • Ray Dean
  • Jack Howarth
  • Roger Joslyn
  • Steve Melledew
  • John Stenson
  • Joe Jopling

Whilst celebrating the 50th anniversary of that fantastic season, we’d also like to remember those who have since passed away.

  • Tom MacAnerney – Manager
  • John Anderson – Coach
  • Richard Walden – Defender
  • Jimmy Grummitt – Defender

We’d also like to give great thanks to the members of that squad who were unfortunately unable to join us in celebrating their achievements this weekend:

  • Len Walker – Captain
  • Harry Bennett
  • Joe Gadston
  • Trevor Pearce
  • Mick Travers

We’d like to thank Stadium Announcer Craig Matthews for organising the celebration.